Follow us:

General Information About Peru

General Information:

Peru is located in the central and western part of South America. It is bordered to the west by the Pacific Ocean, and borders Ecuador and Colombia to the north, Brazil and Bolivia to the east and Chile to the south. It is the fourth most populous country in South America after Brazil, Argentina and Colombia.

The Andes Mountains divide Peru into three completely opposite regions: coast, highlands and jungle. Each of them with different geography, flora, fauna and climates, they have 84 of the 104 life zones existing in the world.

Map of Peru

Official Name::

República de Perú (Republic of Peru)


29,546,963 inhabitants (estimated 2010)


1,285,215 Km2



Geographic Regions:

  • Coast: Area bathed by the Pacific Ocean with deserts, beautiful beaches and fertile valleys.
  • Highlands: area dominated by the Andes Mountains. It reaches 6,768 m. (22,204 feet) at the summit of Huascaran snow-capped mountain.
  • Jungle: tropical vegetation area corresponding to the Amazon, where the largest nature reserves in Peru are located.


Coast: Although it rarely rains on the Peruvian coast, it is common the fog and slight drizzle during the winter. The northern end of the coast has sunny days throughout the year and summer temperatures reach 35ºC / 95ºF

    • December to March: summer with temperatures reaching 27ºC / 80ºF
    • May to October: very humid and cold winter (12ºC / 53ºF)

Highlands: dry and temperate climate, it is common to have large variations in temperature (20ºC / 68ºF and 2°C / 35°F) in a single day.

  • May to October: sunny days, very cold nights and little rain.
  • December to March: rainy season with abundant rainfall.
Jungle: humid and tropical

  • May to December: temperatures above 30°C / 86° F
  • November to March: rainy season, with frequent showers and increased river flow.


Spanish and Quechua are the official languages in the country.
Other language recognized by the Peruvian government is Aymara, as well as 48 other native languages.


The time zone that corresponds to Peru is GMT – 5.


Peru’s official currency is the Nuevo Sol which is divided into 100 cents (called centimos in Spanish). Currently circulating:
  • Coins of 10, 20 and 50 cents
  • Coins of 1, 2 and 5 Nuevos Soles
  • Banknotes of 10, 20, 50, 100 and 200 Nuevos Soles


220 volts.


January 1st New Year’s day
April Good Thursday & Good Friday (Easter Week)
May 1st. Labor Day
June 29th St. Peter and St. Paul
July 28th & 29th Independence Day
August 30th Saint Rose of Lima
October 8th Combat of Angamos
November 1st All Saints Day
December 8th Feast of the Immaculate Conception
December 25 th Christmas day

Search Tours

Search Tours

tour packages to peru